Register for newsletter to receive in advance all the news on the ‘Gran Balconata del Cervino’!

Remove your e-mail from out mailing list


The Mountain Community Monte Cervino was established in 1974 and includes the following municipalities: Antey-Saint-André, Chambave, Chamois, Châtillon, Emarèse, La Magdeleine, Pontey, Saint-Denis, Saint-Vincent, Torgnon, Valtournenche and Verrayes, which share the same territory and development objectives.

The total area of the Mountain Community Monte Cervino is of 335.61 km2, equal to 33,561 ha.

Pursuant to art. 71 of the Regional Law No. 54 dated 07 December 1998, Mountain Communities are local institutions with the purpose of carrying our municipal functions and basic services to citizens by forming an association, with the aim of improving the fulfilment of local government duties from the point of view of efficiency, efficacy, cost-effectiveness and compliance with social and territorial conditions.
The Mountain Communities are also an instrument for implementing the regional policy concerning the mountain.

For the purposes of the special interventions for mountains provided for by the European Union or by National and Regional laws, the whole territory of the Region is to be considered as mountain."

The division of the Aosta valley territory  into seven areas corresponding to as many Mountain Communities were firstly carried out by means of the regional law No. 13 dated 5 April 1973, and, then, by the regional law No. 92 dated 15 December 1982, which added the eighth area.